Navigation and service

Energy Saving Ordinance

The current Energy Saving Ordinance is mainly a result of the ordinance issued in 2007 and the two amendments issued in 2009 and 2013. For new buildings, requirements are fixed concerning the yearly demand of primary energy and the performance of the building envelope; residential- and non-residential buildings are treated differently. For existing buildings, the ordinance contains requirements mainly for cases when the owner modifies the building. Only a few selected requirements are valid independent of modifications. Furthermore, the ordinance fixes requirements concerning building services (heating, domestic hot water, ventilation, air conditioning) for new and existing buildings. For new buildings and – on certain occasions – for existing buildings energy certificates have to be issued and presented. The quality of these certificates is the subject of an independent control system. It becomes compulsory to state certain energy performance indicators in advertisements when the building is offered for sale or rent.

diese Seite auf Deutsch

Status from 1st May 2014

The “Second Ordinance amending the Energy Saving Ordinance” came into force on 1st May 2014. Separate from the rest of the alterations, the strengthening of requirements for new buildings came into force later - on 1st January 2016 – and was combined with a reduction of the primary energy factor for electricity. The relevant level of requirements normally is determined by the date of application for a building permit.

>more about the 2013 amendment
>more about the accompanying studies

In comparison to the previous status, on 1st May 2014 the following alterations came into force:

New Buildings

  • Change of calculation standard DIN V 18599; henceforth the 2011 version has to be applied. This means changed climatic conditions and a moderately lowered primary energy factor for electricity.
  • An amended calculation standard has to be applied for summer heat protection as well.
  • The legal basis for a simplified method to calculate new residential buildings (“EnEV easy”) was established, but the official bulletin of the Federal Government necessary for the application was not issued before 21st October 2016, representing the (strengthened) level of requirements valid at this later date.

>more about requirements for new buildings

Existing Buildings

  • Conditional requirements are (for economic reasons) henceforth not valid for alterations concerning roof-, wall- and ceiling-surfaces constructed or refurbished later than 31st December 1983 paying regard to the respective energy performance requirements.
  • The conditional requirements include an alternative clause that the requirement is met as soon as the available space is filled with insulation material. Henceforth, the heat conductivity of the insulation material has to meet a strengthened value reflecting the state of the art.
  • Certain boilers now have to be shut down after 30 years of service.

>more about requirements for existing buildings

Energy Certificates

  • An independent control system for energy certificates is established; certificates henceforth have to be registered and are numbered. The same applies to inspection reports for AC systems.
  • The obligations to issue and display energy certificates in case of buildings used by authorities are adapted to changed EU regulations. If a certificate is issued for certain private buildings frequently visited by the public, from now on the energy certificate has to be displayed.

>more about regulations for energy certificates

Property Advertisements

  • Certain energy performance indicators from the energy certificate of the building have to be included from now on in property advertisements in commercial media.

Status from 1st January 2016

The following provisions of the “Second Ordinance amending the Energy Saving Ordinance” came into force from 1st January 2016:

New Buildings

  • The requirements on the maximum yearly primary energy demand of a new building are strengthened by the provision that it has to be 25 percent lower than the respective value calculated for its reference building.
  • For electricity henceforth a lower primary energy factor is applied. This reduces the effect of the strengthened primary energy requirement for electric systems.
  • The maximum specific transmission heat loss of a new residential building is limited to the value calculated for its reference building. Normally, this means a strengthening by 20 % in relation to the former level.
  • The maximum average heat transmission coefficients of a new non-residential building are strengthened by 20 percent in relation to the respective former values.

>more about requirements for new buildings

Existing Buildings

  • Special provisions in article 9 of the ordinance have the effect that for extensions and other calculations concerning existing buildings (e. g. in case of alterations) the previous state of legislation is applied instead of the new strengthened level of requirements for new buildings.

>more about requirements for existing buildings

This Page

© Copyright by BBR. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. - 2013

Navigation und Service

Energieeinsparverordnung (EnEV)

Die aktuelle Energieeinsparverordnung ergibt sich im Wesentlichen aus der 2007 erlassenen Verordnung und den beiden Änderungsverordnungen von 2009 und 2013. Für neu zu errichtende Gebäude stellt sie Anforderungen an den Jahres-Primärenergiebedarf und die Qualität der Gebäudehülle; es wird zwischen Wohn- und Nichtwohngebäuden unterschieden. Für bestehende Gebäude werden Anforderungen im Wesentlichen aus Anlass von Veränderungen gestellt, die der Eigentümer vornimmt. Daneben gibt es in wenigen Fällen veränderungsunabhängige Nachrüstungsanforderungen. Ferner stellt die Verordnung Anforderungen an die Anlagentechnik (Heizung, Warmwasser, Lüftung, Klimatisierung) bei neuen und bestehenden Gebäuden. Für neue Gebäude und – anlassbezogen – für bestehende Gebäude ist die Ausstellung und die Vorlage von Energieausweisen Pflicht. Deren Qualität wird durch ein unabhängiges Kontrollsystem überwacht. In Immobilienanzeigen ist jetzt die Nennung bestimmter energetischer Eigenschaften der Gebäude erforderlich.

this page in english

Rechtsstand ab 1. Mai 2014

Die „Zweite Verordnung zur Änderung der Energieeinsparverordnung vom 18. November 2013“ trat am 1. Mai 2014 in Kraft. Gesondert davon trat die Verschärfung des Anforderungsniveaus für neue Gebäude erst zum 1. Januar 2016 in Kraft und wurde mit einer zeitgleichen Senkung des Primärenergiefaktors für elektrischen Strom verbunden. Den Stichtag für die Anwendung des jeweiligen Anforderungsniveaus bei Neubauten bestimmt in der Regel der Bauantrag.

>Mehr zum Novellierungsverfahren
>Mehr zu den Begleitgutachten zur Novelle

Gegenüber dem vorhergehenden Rechtsstand traten am 1. Mai 2014 insbesondere die folgenden Änderungen in Kraft:

Neubauten

  • Änderung der anzuwendenden Berechnungsnorm DIN V 18599; fortan ist die Version 2011 zu verwenden. Damit gehen veränderte Klimarandbedingungen und ein etwas abgesenkter Primärenergiefaktor für Strom einher.
  • Eine geänderte Berechnungsnorm gilt fortan auch für den sommerlichen Wärmeschutz.
  • Für neue Wohngebäude wird zwar die rechtliche Grundlage für ein vereinfachtes Verfahren („EnEV easy“) geschaffen, die dafür erforderliche Bekanntmachung der Bundesregierung wird aber erst am 21. Oktober 2016 auf Grundlage des zu diesem Zeitpunkt geltenden (verschärften) Anforderungsniveaus erlassen.

>mehr zu Anforderungen an Neubauten

Bestehende Gebäude

  • Bedingte Anforderungen gelten fortan (aus Gründen der Wirtschaftlichkeit) nicht bei Veränderungen an Dach-, Wand- und Deckenflächen, die unter Einhaltung energiesparrechtlicher Vorschriften nach dem 31. Dezember 1983 errichtet oder erneuert worden sind.
  • Zu den bedingten Anforderungen besteht eine Öffnungsklausel, wonach die Anforderung erfüllt ist, sobald der für Dämmung verfügbare Raum mit Dämmstoff gefüllt ist. Fortan muss dabei der Dämmstoff einen dem Stand der Technik entsprechend verschärfter Wert der Wärmeleitfähigkeit einhalten.
  • Bestimmte Heizkessel sind fortan nach 30 Betriebsjahren außer Betrieb zu nehmen.

>mehr zu Anforderungen bei bestehenden Gebäuden

Energieausweise

  • Für Energieausweise wird ein Kontrollsystem eingeführt; die Ausweise sind fortan zu registrieren und tragen eine Nummer. Entsprechendes gilt für die Inspektionsberichte für inspektionspflichtige Klimaanlagen.
  • In Umsetzung europäischer Vorgaben wird die Ausstellungs- und Aushangpflicht bei behördlicher Nutzung angepasst und – bei vorliegendem Ausweis – eine Aushangpflicht für bestimmte, von der Öffentlichkeit häufig besuchte Gebäude eingeführt.

>mehr zu Ausstellungspflichten für Energieausweise

Immobilienanzeigen

  • Bei Immobilienanzeigen in kommerziellen Medien wird eine Pflicht zur Nennung bestimmter energetischer Eigenschaften eingeführt, die aus Energieausweisen zu entnehmen sind.

>mehr zu Pflichtangaben in Immobilienanzeigen

Rechtsstand ab 1. Januar 2016

Zum Stichtag 1. Januar 2016 traten folgende weitere Regelungen aus der Zweiten EnEV-Änderungsverordnung in Kraft:

Neubauten

  • Die Anforderungen an den Jahres-Primärenergiebedarf werden dadurch verschärft, dass ein Neubau fortan den für sein Referenzgebäude berechneten Wert um 25% unterschreiten muss.
  • Für elektrischen Strom wird fortan ein verringerter Primärenergiefaktor angewandt, was bei elektrischen Systemen die vorgenannte Verschärfung reduziert.
  • Der spezifische Transmissionswärmeverlust eines zu errichtenden Wohngebäudes darf den für sein Referenzgebäude berechneten Wert nicht überschreiten. Dies bedeutet in der Regel eine etwa 20%ige Verschärfung gegenüber dem vorigen Stand.
  • Die Höchstwerte der mittleren Wärmedurchgangskoeffizienten eines zu errichtenden Nichtwohngebäudes werden gegenüber vorherigem Rechtsstand um 20% verschärft.

>mehr zu Anforderungen an Neubauten

Bestehende Gebäude

  • Besondere Regelungen in § 9 bewirken, dass bei Anbauten und Erweiterungen sowie bei der Bilanzierung von bestehenden Gebäuden (im Falle von Änderungen an Außenbauteilen) nicht die verschärften Neubauanforderungen, sondern vorheriges Recht zur Anwendung kommt.

>mehr zu Anforderungen bei bestehenden Gebäuden

Diese Seite

© Copyright by BBR. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. - 2013